Journaling Workshop

Journal at Work

Session 1: Overview

A few links

1. Michael Gelb’s Web site: http://michaelgelb.com/

2. Leonardo exhibit at the Franklin Institute, February 5 - May 22: http://www.fi.edu/leonardo/

3. draft of Roger Hiemstra’s “Uses and Benefits of Journal Writing”: http://www-distance.syr.edu/journal1.html

4. “A Goldmine of Journaling Prompts”: http://www.squidoo.com/journalwritingprompts

5. “Inspired to Journal”: http://inspiredtojournal.net/

6. “Journal for You”: http://www.journalforyou.com/

7. “Writing Intensive Materials at Marymount”: http://muir.wikidot.com/writing-intensive-materials-at-marymount

A few prompts--overview

Session 2: Curiosità: intellectual curiosity and lifelong learning (Gelb, Leonardo, etc.)

100 questions prompt

Session 3: Dimostrazione: experience (Progoff, memoir, etc.)

A few links

1. Michael Gelb’s Leonard birthday message: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GaJNsAUt1wQ

2. Progoff’s Intensive Journal Program: http://www.intensivejournal.org

3. “Using Dreams and Imagery to Develop Your Life”: http://www.intensivejournal.org/about/aboutDreams.php

4. “This I Believe Essay-Writing Guidelines”: http://thisibelieve.org/guidelines/

5. Natalie Goldberg’s site: http://www.nataliegoldberg.com/

A few prompts--dimostrazione

There will be some Intensive Journal workshops in our area this spring.

April 1-2 at GMU: e-mail ude.umg|gnirrafm#ude.umg|gnirrafm

May 14-15 in DC: e-mail gro.yelbis|rettopj#gro.yelbis|rettopj

Session 4: Sensazione: refinement of the senses, particularly sight (New, art journaling, digital storytelling)

A few links

1. “One Minute Muse”: http://www.theoneminutemuse.com/

2. “The Art Journal: How to Start Visual Journaling”: http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/290019/the_art_journal_how_to_start_visual.html?cat=4

3. Google book, Visual Journaling: http://books.google.com/books?id=GMGFrWL2OmMC&lpg=PP1&ots=_b535OZo9I&dq=ganim%20fox%20visual&pg=PP1#v=onepage&q&f=false

4. American Art Therapy Association: http://www.arttherapy.org/

5. “Art Therapy” blog: http://www.arttherapyblog.com/

6. blog of Book of Me author Angie Pedersen: http://scrapyourstories.com/

7. “Visual Journaling artists” (ha—an artist places himself among the great): http://www.visualjournaling.com/artists.html

A few prompts--sensazione

Session 5: Corporalita and Arte/Scienza: mind-body and left-right brain (Cameron, creativity, etc.)

A few links

1. Tony Buzan mind mapping video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MlabrWv25qQ

2. Stephen Pierce, on mind mapping for reading video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uvnbKEHOQIY

3. Mind map of How to Think like Leonardo da Vinci: http://img.mappio.com/lucianop/how-to-think-like-leonardo-da-vinci-Large.jpg

4. University of Arizona library mind mapping tutorial for research: http://www.library.arizona.edu/help/tutorials/mindMap/index.php

5. Artist’s Way Web site: http://www.theartistsway.com/julia-cameron

6. “The Complete Guide to the Alexander Technique”: http://www.alexandertechnique.com/

A few prompts--arte/scienza & corporality

Session 6: Sfumato and Connessione: appreciation for ambiguity and recognition of connections (Adams, healing, etc.)

A few links

1. Center for Journal Therapy (Kay Adams): http://journaltherapy.com/journaltherapy/

2. Kay Adams radio interviews (listen): http://journaltherapy.com/journaltherapy/radio-show

3. Center for Autobiographic Studies (Tristine Rainer): http://www.storyhelp.com/

4. Peer Spirit (Christina Baldwin): http://www.peerspirit.com/

5. James Pennebaker article in Literature and Medicine 19.1, “Telling Stories: The Health Benefits of Narrative”: http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/literature_and_medicine/v019/19.1pennebaker.html

6. Decision Journal (business angle, but it transfers): http://artpetty.com/2011/02/09/management-excellence-toolkit-part-1-create-a-decision-journal/
7. Writing through Life blog (with prompts): http://www.writingthroughlife.com/

8. An everyday journal writer walks you through her journal collection and considers the qualities of the notebook: http://vimeo.com/15086521

A few prompts--sfumato and connessione
Unless otherwise stated, the content of this page is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License